Location: Croydon | Website: n/a

Line Up
John Ward (v) – also in London
Nick Fusco (g)
Alan Beschi (g)
Geoff Gillespie (b) – also in Switchback, Snowblind and Static
Allan Angold (d) – also in Switchback

Nick Pyatt (v)
Rob Brown (aka Chad Brown) (v) – also in Preacher, The Sweet, Snowblind and Lionheart

– Formed in the spring of 1980 by school mates Geoff Gillespie and Allan Angold. The rest of the line up was found via adverts on Melody Maker. The band folded sometime in late 1983 after the departure of singer John Ward
– Can be found in the following compilations:
60 Minute Plus Heavy Metal Compilation” (CASSETTE, Neat Records, 1982) with ‘Cry To The Wind’
All Hell Let Loose” (LP, Neat Records, 1983) with ‘Cry To The Wind’
The Essential Neat Records Singles Collection” (2CD, Neat Metal Records, 1999) with ‘Miracle Man’
The Neat Singles Collection Volume Two” (2CD, Sanctuary, 2002) with ‘Miracle Man’ and ‘On The Loose’
The Flame Burns On – The Best Of Neat Records” (2CD, Sanctuary, 2002) with ‘Miracle Man’
Lightnin’ To The Nations NWOBHM 25th Anniversary Collection” (3CD, Sanctuary, 2005) with ‘Miracle Man’
Empire Of Thunder – A NWOBHM Collection” (CD, Majestic Rock, 2005) with ‘Can You Feel It?’

Demo 1980

1. Miracle Man
2. Can You Feel It?
3. On The Loose

*Recorded at Palm Tree Studios in London with Nick Pyatt on vocals

SABRE - Miracle Man.jpeg


Miracle Man

7″ Neat Records (1983) NEAT 23
CD single Skol Records (2018) UK 019

1. Miracle Man
2. On The Loose

*CD single release by Skol Records is a replica of the 7″ with the original artwork etc limited to 500 copies.


SABRE - Roar To The Core


Roar To The Core

CD Majestic Rock (2005) MAJCD061

1. Miracle Man
2. Can You Feel It?
3. On The Loose
4. Sunken Ships
5. Fighting Talk
6. Wounded Heart
7. Red Light Lover
8. Miracle Man
9. On The Loose
10. Cry To The Wind
11. Wouldn’t You Like To Know?
12. Kick Me When I`m Down
13. Work’s A Four Letter Word

*Tracks 1-3 from Demo 1980
Tracks 4-7 rehershals from December 1981 / January 1982. These are the only recordings of Sabre with singer Rob Brown
Tracks 8-10 Neat session from 1982: The 7″ plus the track on the “60 Minute Plus Heavy Metal Compilation”
Tracks 11-13 are from the pre-Sabre band Switchback featuring Geoff Gillespie (b) and Allan Angold (d) circa 1978