Flight 19

Flight 19

Location: Halifax | Website: n/a

Line Up

Andy Smith (v,b)
Howard Page (v,g)
Phil Dawtrey (g) – also in Crimea
Nick (d)

Aussie (v)
Tony Ellsgood (d)

– Formed in the summer of 1982 probably in Halifax as a 5-piece.
– Been through a few line-up changes and folded around 1988

Below is some info we found and appears to be written by guitarist Phil Dawtrey.

As a five peace they didn’t play pubs because they believed in putting on a good show with other local bands. First gig Flight 19 played was in front of 400 at the ‘Rocks Revenge’ in Halifax with Satanic Rites, Rhabstallion, and Cyka. Just before they were due on stage Andy’s amp failed but all Aussie was worried about were that his new leather strides looked ok. One of their biggest claims to fame was getting the support slot to Mama’s Boys along with Baby Tuckoo.

After their first three track demo and live recording AUSSIE left the band and eventually went off to live in AUSTRALIA. The rest of the band continued as a four peace and got to record two tracks in a 24 track studio which are very good but by now the original rock idea was changing and Phil left, FLIGHT 19 continued for a number of years as a three peace but it was the original line up that many believe did the best material although the studio CD covers all the whole period 83 – 86. Andy and Phil have been rehearsing and playing the old stuff with a new drummer and it sounds great with a new edge to it.

*Note that although a CD is mentioned, there is absolutely no evidence of its existence

Demo 1983

1. The Moon Song
2. Flight 19
3. Don’t Mess Me Around

*Recorded in Wakefield, March 1983

Demo 1984

1. Rubber Heel
2. Lesson Number 1
3. Get You

*Recorded at Lowecoat Farm, March 1984

Demo 1985

1. Someone Else
2. In The End

*Recorded at Peninsula studios, Driffield, May 1985


1. Tie Your Mother Down
2. Fashion
3. The Moon Song
4. Bring In The Night
5. Profession Of Violence
6. Don’t Mess Me Around
7. Flight 19
8. Time
9. Driving Beat
10. Band Intro
11. Wishing Well / Blockbuster / Get It On

*Not an official release but a CD-R circulated to friends and fans of the band
*Recorded live at Hoppers, Halifax 18 January 1983

FLIGHT 19 - The Anthology


The Anthology

CD Obscure Nwobhm Releases (2020) ONR005

1. Don’t Mess Me Around
2. Flight 19
3. Moon Song
4. Lesson Number One
5. Time (Live)
6. Bring In The Night (Live)
7. Rubber Heel
8. Get You
9. In The End
10. Someone Else
11. Driving Beat (Live)
12. Fashion (Live)

*Limited to 500 copies. Compiles the three demos and also includes four tracks from the 1983 Hoppers gig