Axis (1)


Location: Stockton | Website: n/a

Line Up
Neil Grafton (v)
John Cuningham (v,b)
Mick Tucker (g) – also in Tank, Lies of Smiles and White Spirit
Dave Little (g) – also in Pauline Gillan Band and Lies of Smiles
Marty Day (d) – also in Hammer and Holland
Paul McGuire (k)

Sam Bluett (v)
Phil Brady (b) – also in White Spirit

– They recorded the songs ‘You Got It’ and ‘One Step Ahead’ for a Neat single but it was not released.
– Axis also appeared on the following compilations:
60 Minutes Plus Heavy Metal Compilation” (CASSETTE, Neat Records, 1982) with the track ‘Flame Burns On’. This compilation was also released on vinyl under the title “All Hell Let Loose” (Neat Records, 1983) and on CD by Teichiku Japan (1992)
Lead Weight” (LP, Neat Records, 1981) with the track ‘Messiah’. This compilation was also released on CD (Sanctuary, 2002)
”Messiah’ is also included in “The Flame Burns On – The Best Of Neat Records” (2CD, Sanctuary, 2002) and in “Lightnin’ To The Nations NWOBHM 25th Anniversary Collection” (3CD, Sanctuary, 2005)

AXIS - Lady



7″ Metal Minded Records (1980) IS/AX/1047
7″ Phoenix Records (2003) NWOBHM 7026

1. Lady
2. Messiah

*The Phoenix Records 7″ is a bootleg. Comes in blue vinyl and is limited to 250 hand-numbered copies


AXIS - Flame Burns On


Flame Burns On

LP High Roller Records (2011) HRR 187
CD High Roller Records (2013) HRR 187

1. Lady
2. Messiah
3. One Step Ahead
4. Flame Burns On
5. You Got It
6. Dream After Dream
7. Nightwinds (live rehearsal)
8. Into the Sun (live)
9. You Got It (live)
10. One Step Ahead (live)

*LP is limited to 500 copies. 150 pressed on white/black blend and 350 on black vinyl. CD is also limited to 500 copies