Location: Rothwell | Website: facebook

Line Up
Andrew Cowburn (v)
Simon Boardman (g)
Wayne Horsborough (b)
Carl Bateman (d)

Phil Strafford (d)

– Formed by five school friends in 1980 under the name Black Widow. Changed to Argon when drummer Carl Bateman replaced Phil Strafford in 1981
– Came second in the northern leg of the “Rock Schools” contest of 1982
– Played numerous gigs throughout the North of England and provided support to acts such as Limelight, Vow Vow and Manowar
– Called it quits in 1984
– A compilation of all Argon’s recordings plus a couple of new songs is expected to be released in 2020

Demo 1981

1. Night Of The Demon (Demon cover)
2. Running Free
3. Diamonds And Rust (Joan Baez/Judas Priest cover)

ARGON - Wake



CASSETTE self-released (1982)

1. Black Widow
2. Running Free
3. Dragon Tooth
4. Summer Of ’63
5. The Prisoner Of Elrid





ARGON - Argon



CASSETTE self-released (1983)
CDr self-released (2002)

1. Too Scared
2. The Italian Price
3. Feel It
4. (Into) The Shadow Of Death