Hell’s Belles

Hell's Belles

Location: Leamington Spa | Website: official| facebook

Line Up
Paul Quigley (v) – also in Punkenstein, SwingFire, A.M., RAAM, BellaDonna, The Stormtroopers and Death Wish

Peter Purtill (g) – also in Discharge
Jon Archer (b)
Gareth Holder (b) – also in The Shapes and Rogue Male
Tony Smith (d) – also in European Sun and Brute Force
Garry Maloney (d) – also in Discharge and The Varukers
Lyndsay Bridgwater (k) – also in Ozzy Osbourne

– Formed in early 1984 when Peter Purtill and Garry Maloney return from the Discharge 1983 tour of the United States
– Watch out for mainman Paul Quigley who acts on two of Girlschool’s videos: ’20th Century Boy’ and ‘Play Dirty’
– Paul Quigley reformed the band in 2004 with the name HellsBelles (one word, no apostrophes) following a rather different style and releasing music as digital singles only
– Hell’s Belles can be found on the following compilations:
Metal Killers Kollection” (2LP, Castle Communications, 1985) with ‘Hells Belles’
Metal Killers Kollection Volume II” (2LP, Castle Communications, 1986) with ‘Wastin’ Away’
Rock Legends” (4CD, Castle Communications, 1992) with ‘If It Don’t Make YourEars Bleed (It Ain’t Rock’N’Roll)’ and ‘Long Legs’
Rock Classics Vol.1” (CD, Elap, 1993) with ‘Hells Belles’

Demo 1984

1. Long Legs
2. If It Don’t Make Your Ears Bleed (It Ain’t Rock ‘N’ Roll)
3. Hell’s Belles

HELLS BELLES - Hells Belles


Hells Belles

LP Raw Power (1986) RAWLP 015
CASSETTE Raw Power (1986) RAW TC015

1. Looks Like Love
2. Overload
3. Desire Me
4. Screaming For Mercy
5. Hell’s Belles
6. Barricades
7. Strangelove
8. Dirty Girls
9. Storm Break Loose
10. Long Legs

HELLS BELLES - Barricades



7″ Raw Power (1986) RAW SS001
12″ Raw Power (1986) RAW TS001

1. Barricades
2. If It Don’t Make Your Ears Bleed (It Ain’t Rock And Roll)
3. Storm Break Loose

*Track ‘Storm Break Loose’ only on the 12″
*There is also a 7″ acetate that features the track “Long Legs” on the b-side and was used as promo at the time. Not clear how many of these acetates exist but they shouldn’t be more than five or ten

HellsBelles - The Singles Collection


The Singles Collection

CD-R self-released (2014)

1. Gone But Not Forgotten
2. Abyssinian Demesne
3. (Why Did They Kill) Joe Hill
4. Scars
5. Troubled Times
6. (Why Did They Kill) Joe Hill (Cello Mix)

*Compilation of tracks released as digital downloads only since 2011